Movie Magic

Happy Easter!

I’m really finding it tough to find something to write about today. It’s a beautiful, sunny day outside. I’m thinking I may walk down to the park later. As for now, Mulan is on YTV, and the kid in me HAS to watch it!

Mulan

Yes, I’m in my mid-twenties and I still LOVE Disney movies. Really, any animation films. If I were to guess I would say that my DVD/BluRay collection consists of about 25% animated films. 

I think my fascination with these films is a sense of nostalgia that they give me. They remind me of a safer time. We’ve all heard of the “Disney Magic.” The feeling I have when I re-watch my favorite Disney films is definitely magical. The movies still make me feel happy after all of these years. They don’t consist of complicated plots, the animations are beautiful, colorful, and they have fantastic stories that are timeless. Now re-watching them as an adult (apparently I am an adult. Oy…) I see some more of the sub-text that I missed as a child, which makes me appreciate them even more.

There is just so much in the world that is discouraging. Tragedy outweighs the good fortune through the news. Much of today’s shows and films are about disasters, wars, really the worst case scenario of the world. Zombie apocalypse, alien invasion. Corruption, scandal, and death. Sure this is entertaining, but sometimes, I just want a story that is easy to follow, crazy unrealistic, light and has a guarantee of a happily ever after.
Alice
Perhaps that’s why I love animated films so much. They usually come to a conclusion that ends on a high note. There is a resolution that is generally happy. The characters receive closure, they complete their tasks.

Life is filled with so much uncertainty.  The Disney films, I know that 99.9% of the time they are going to end happy. I know the outcomes.

So for a couple of hours I can take a break from reality and immerse myself in the world where a girl dresses in men’s clothing and joins the Imperial Army and brings victory to China. The story of Mulan is a folktale, and the film is not very representative of the original story, but in the end, the fact that a woman can make a difference in a world that is dominated by men, it not a fantasy. This is a FACT. And a great lesson for anyone to remember.

Well, that’s enough from me for one day.

Cheers and Stay Smiling!

DO

One thought on “Movie Magic

Leave a Reply

