Show Me Love

Valentine’s Day huh? And a Tuesday! How fitting!

So Mother Nature decided that the couples in Sin Jawns needed to spend the day together so she tossed a delightful snow storm our way.

wp-1487101139855.png

Work closed today. My significant other already had the day off. So we have spent the day inside. S.O. (Significant Other) and I made breakfast (he cooked everything, I toasted some bread). We also have been playing P.V.R/Netflix catch-up with Comic Book Men, MasterChef Junior, Kevin Can Wait, and Unbreakable Kimmy SchmidtAfter we made brownies and frosting from scratch (we measured, he mixed). Now the brownies are done and we’re taking a shot at watching The Secret Life of Walter Mitty. Trying to watch a movie or two we haven’t seen before.

So this whole Valentine’s Day thing. It’s what you make it. I was anticipating working today, as I usually do on V-Day. Social media dictates that from 2009-2015 I actually worked on Valentine’s Day. In 2008 we spent the morning moving and I spent the evening working. Last year S.O ended up working and I spent the day with nephew.

valentines-day-quote

But as I keep saying about most holidays (i.e. Thanksgiving ) I don’t need a specific day to know that S.O. loves me, and I hope he doesn’t feel like he needs this day. We have over ten years together that an actual day to show love is not necessary.

Now, I would be lying if I said I didn’t wish that I could get dolled up and go out for dinner or see a play or something tonight. For those who know me, you know I’m not one to do my hair and make-up. I’d rather be in a hoodie and track pants and I am as much as time allows me (for example, S.O.’s old Adidas sports jacket he wore when we first met and his track pants is super comfy at the moment). But what you don’t know… from time to time… I actually do enjoy wearing dresses and make up!

demi

But at the end of the day, if I can spend the whole day in S.O.’s arms watching movies and TV, seeing the joy on his face as he cooks for me (he loves to cook! I am indifferent to cooking), as long as we are together, it’s an amazing day. These days are rare and we try to make the most of them with what we have.

So Happy Valentine’s Day everybody. If I were to define this day it would be to spend it doing things you love with people that you love. So if you have a significant other in your life good for you. If not, you have friends and family, and most of all, you have yourself. Show yourself some self-love. Read a book, take a nice warm bath, know that tomorrow all chocolate will be half price.

homer-half

I will also most likely be half-price chocolate indulging tomorrow myself!

Well, time to bid adieu.

Cheers and Stay Smiling!

DO

Leave a Reply

