“Why’d You Have To Go and Make Things So Complicated?”

Happy Tuesday.

wp-1482889774337.jpg
This quote was one I found a couple of months ago. I can’t remember exactly where I came across it, but I found it again today as I was scrolling through some of the saved photos on my phone.

“Don’t wait for things to get easier, simpler, better. Life will always be complicated. Learn to be happy right now. Otherwise, you’ll run out of time.”

Going back to the book The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck by Mark Mason, Mason makes the argument that life is a series of problems that we work to solve. There are always going to be problems. There is no escape from problems. Mason argues that what really makes the difference is choosing which problems are actually worth your time to address and these are the issues that it would be nice to see resolved. 

As you all know, I am a HUGE fan of the site TheSeeds4Life. Recently April Stearns, one of the contributors for their site, shared a message based around a quote from Margaret Thatcher. This link will take you to Ms. Stearns’ blog post.

margaret-thatcher

Procrastination has been a large battle for me, as my readers already know. Why do I continue to put things off? Sometimes circumstances do happen that perhaps throw me off from actually attending to a task at hand.

But really, keeping Mason’s message in mind, why do I give a fuck about what has to be done? Why do I feel I “should” have chores completed when there are more important things that I need to focus my time on?

Really, it’s going back to prioritizing what exactly are those problems that you truly want to solve. On days that I accomplish what I set out to do and I see the payoff, they are great days. When I spend the day sending off resumes and I get a phone call for an interview, or when I get to plan an outfit for the next day and know that everything is clean, or even when I go into a room and see it tidy, it is an amazing feeling to know that I DID THAT! I completed a task that I set out to do.

These are the feelings that I am trying to hold onto is the feeling that I feel when a job is completed. I can look at the mental checklist and scratch it out as done and I can move on to another task to complete.

checklist

For example, writing this blog this evening… this was the only topic I really could elaborate on today. But Tuesday is the day of the week that I put time aside to write. I love to vent and share with my readers and I hope that this blog has the opportunity to reach others and let them know that they are not alone. Whether their struggle is procrastination, anxiety, depression, or just trying to find themselves in this world, I want this blog to be a place they can come and read, find something they can relate to.

If you’re reading this and want to hear more, please let me know by leaving a comment or a quick like below!

DumbOptimist’s first anniversary is coming up on Thursday, December 29th. Expect to see another blog post as a year in review so to speak. Keep an eye out!

Now, it is time that I must bid you adieu. My partner took the time to get me a cupcake from the fridge that I really want to eat.

Cheers and Stay Smiling.

DO

One thought on ““Why’d You Have To Go and Make Things So Complicated?”

Leave a Reply

