Keep Calm… It’s Christmas!

Good morning everyone! I know! It’s Friday! What’s DO doing writing a blog?

Well, I did tell you that I would be trying to squeeze another blog entry in before Christmas. One that I feel is very close to my heart and I wanted to share with you. And hopefully I can get this one finished before my nephew wakes up. It’s his birthday!! 🙂

So, Christmas! Meant to be the season of joy and good will towards men, Christmas has turned into a time of year when people stress about what presents to get the people in their lives. They stress about finding the time and ability to find a way to spend the holiday with their loved ones. They stress about finding time to bake cookies and make delicious food for their family and friends to enjoy.

For someone like me, jobless and anxious, I have actually been feeling stomach sick the past couple of days. Unsure about what I’m giving my partner is enough or even what he wants, how I’m going to come up with the ability to buy presents for my friends and family. Not that my family and friends expect me to get them anything; they all said not to bother because they KNOW I can’t afford it. Which is true! But it’s the holidays! I have to at least make an effort.

Before I lost my job, I purchased tickets to see a friend from university perform in his one man show he had written. Last night my partner and I went to watch that show. The show was amazing; the show was about how since childhood, my friend spent his life trying to make others around him happy, how he essentially did everything in his power but it didn’t make everyone happy and it ended up making himself miserable. He did an amazing job, however, many of my friends I spoke to after said they could relate to what he was saying.

He spoke to me as well. I have spent the majority of my life trying to please others that my own path has become so warped. So much so that it is making me sick to my stomach. I have a strong fear of failure; not so much failing myself, but failing those who are around me. I have to try to please everyone around me or I’m a failure.

However, if the family and friends in your life love you, they won’t be expecting gifts. Knowing that you’re thinking of them is generally enough. That thought isn’t overly comforting is it?

So, what I would like to share with you today are ways to keep calm during the holiday season.

1) Breathe – in through your nose and out through your mouth. Just breathe.

2) Know that others around you are also stressed – if you are out and about trying to buy Christmas gifts; know this! Traffic will be backed up, there will be line-ups, retail workers are running around ragged trying to put out merchandise, help customers, and they do it with a smile on their face even though they probably want to scream inside. Stores may not have what you’re looking for left in stock. Do not take this out on the workers around you. Know before you walk out the door you are going outside with kindred spirits today. If people are sharing their frustrations around you, don’t think too much into it. They probably feel the same as you. Just smile and ride the waves.

3) Keep it simple – especially if you’re on a budget, do not invest in elaborate Christmas presents that will put you in debt. Sometimes simple is best. I’d like to think that people would just be happy to know that you love them.

Well my time has come to an end. My nephew is awake. I’m going to spend the day with him! 🙂

Cheers and Stay Smiling

DO

2 thoughts on “Keep Calm… It’s Christmas!

Leave a Reply

