Fighting The Comfort Zone

Happy Tuesday. I have a confession to make.

I am a cheater.

I am cheating right now.

I am cheating on Second Cup with Starbucks!!!

overdramatic-cat

Sometimes it’s all about location, location, location. Haha.

I spent the afternoon taking care of something that I have been procrastinating for a long time. About 10 years to be exact.

I WENT TO THE DENTIST!

I really want to put another over-dramatic cat GIF at this section, but I feel as though it will be too much repetition.

Needless to say, it was definitely a visit I needed. Not overly good news either as I have a mouthful of cavities. Which wasn’t such a surprise. Easy fixes, nothing I can’t handle.

Why have I been putting off going to the dentist? Well, I always felt that it was unnecessary. No pain, no need to go right?

pete.gif

The financial side of things was also another reason I didn’t consider going. It’s expensive. And some probably think because of my current situation that I’m crazy for going at this particular time. However, it has become something that I have strongly needed for quite some time that I have been putting on the back burner for too long. Time to rip that bandage off and let everything get fixed.

Some people develop a phobia of the dentist that carries on with them through adulthood. This was never the case with me. Growing up in an isolated community with only a scheduled ferry service, a dentist appointment usually meant I would miss a full day of school rather than just be pulled out for half a day. In junior high my mother would ask me what day was best, as in when did I have any tests so if she were to make the appointments I wouldn’t miss them. There was one day that I had one teacher for 80% of the day who bored me so I’m pretty sure that year I missed that day 3 or 4 times due to dentist, optometrist or doctor appointments.

judd.gif

Really, I was procrastinating it because I felt that every time was the wrong time. And perhaps it is still the wrong time. But at least now my fears of the financial struggles have weaned a little. I have an actual plan set in front of me to set in motion to get back to where I want my smile to be.

And when you’re a dumb optimist like me, it’s nice to have a smile that doesn’t cause you pain.

Once I have a plan and a checklist of what is to be done, I’m usually pretty good at getting things done in a timely manner. Once that checklist becomes more abstract, it becomes scary. to-do-list_o_490480

Why am I sharing this mundane experience to the dentist with you, readers?

I’m sharing to show you that procrastination is really just a way to feed your fears. I procrastinate some of the biggest things in my life because of fear. Fear of failure, fear of financial stress, fear of imperfection. The last two weeks really remind me that safe is not necessarily as safe as you think. Safe makes you feel as though if you don’t put your all into what you’re doing it’s okay. It’s okay to just brush by, it’s okay to do the minimum. It’s okay to do the safe thing.

It’s NOT! You’re literally sacrificing something for nothing. You sacrifice what you want for what’s comfortable. Comfort in my case wasn’t comfortable at all. I have been in robot mode for the majority of the last three months a really long time now. Now this robot doesn’t know what to do without its routine anymore.

It’s time for a human to re-inhabit this body. It’s time for this human to fight for what she wants. It’s time to begin smiling more and looking forward to what this future has to hold and take it for what it is. Every day is a new adventure.

joe

Well, my salted caramel mocha is finished. The day still has a bit of light left in it. What to do with this time I have left?

Well readers, it’s time for me to bid you adieu.

Again, cheers and stay smiling. Unless you have a toothache. Then do whatever you can to ease that pain. HAHA.

DO.

4 thoughts on “Fighting The Comfort Zone

Leave a Reply

