Remember, Learn, Fight

I apologize that I didn’t get a chance to write Tuesday’s blog this week. With work and watching the results of the American election unfold it was hard to find a moment where my thoughts weren’t in overdrive to actually have a rational thought worth sharing. With social media blowing up and every other post regarding the elections it has been a whirlwind to keep up with.

meme

I cannot pretend to know about politics, especially U.S. politics. So I am not touching this issue. All I will say is that my heart is with those who feel lost and unclear about what their future in their country will hold.

Okay Rather than discuss politics or any other heated issue that I have no education to discuss (despite taking an intro Poli Sci course in my first year of university which touched on Canadian politics) I have an idea that I would like to explore a bit deeper.

I have a tendency to overthink when I feel that I have lost my bearings in situations in my personal life. I hate asking for help and have been very independent. I feel that others have so much going on in their own lives that my “problems” aren’t worth bringing up. I feel that my problems are insignificant compared to what others are dealing with in their own lives. Plus, when most of my issues are personal fights inside my own mind rather than anything feasible that can be put into words, I feel that I can’t really voice them anyway. So I keep them bottled up. Let them eat at me until the bottle pops.

At times like these, it makes the mundane feel even more insignificant compared to what is happening. There are people with serious issues that are struggling to find their place in society. People who are scared about their status in their own home.

insignificant

The word “should” really comes up at times like these. We should be happy to be where we are in the world. We should be happy to have the opportunities that we have been given. What we have to remember is that people before us fought for us to have the power that we possess. Soldiers fought for our freedom. They gave their lives, limbs, and in some cases, their sanity so we can be free to be who we are. Women fought for the right to vote so someone like me can vote with ease today. People had to fight for the rights we have today. We have to continue to fight to keep these rights and perhaps earn some more for the future generations after us.

They’ve given us the freedom to express ourselves. This includes voicing our feelings and having access to care to help treat our illness, both physical and mental. This includes having the ability to learn and live however we want. This means that, in the end, there is no reason to keep things bottled up. People fought for these opportunities. People lost loved ones and their own lives for our freedoms.

So despite feeling as though your thoughts are not important, your emotions are not worth discussing, you matter! The difference is what you do with these emotions. Those who turned these feelings into fuel and then into action see what stepping up can do. It can improve your life as well as those around you and, in some cases, set the path for changes that will continue to grow for those to come after us.

you-matter-einstein

Over the last 48 hours I have been thinking about a variety of different scenarios. But if we continue to think negatively, things will continue to be negative. We have to take this negative thinking, filter it, and either flip it into a positive (which I know in many cases is hard) or to take this negativity and break it down into what you want to work on changing for the better. Just allow yourself to feel your feelings, accept you have these feelings, and take the time to explore why you have these feelings rather than try to suppress them.

As I said, for me, there are some feelings I am suppressing, but they are issues that I know there is a valid reason for me to feel them and I will be exploring why I feel them independently for now. Once I can actually make sense to voice them I know I have my support system in place to help me get through it.

I want to also take this time to thank those who have given their lives and time to give people like me the ability to express myself. For me to live in a country where I don’t have to hide who I am or fear for my life. As long as I’m not hurting someone else I can pretty much do or say what I want without fear. I have the power to vote in my country, which many women still are fighting for in other countries. I can work and study without being suppressed because of what is under my clothes. There is still a lot of work to be done but because of the fight that people made before me, I know that there are still leaps that will be made.maxresdefault

Take a moment, remember the sacrifices that were made for our freedom on this Remembrance Day. Despite how you feel about war, think about the families that lost a loved one throughout their time fighting for our freedom. Think about those who lost their limbs or their minds for us. I hate the fact that these things had to happen for our rights, but have deep respect for those who stood and fought for us. And remember, they did it for their country. They did it for their families. They did it for us.

Lest We Forget.

Cheers and Stay Smiling.

DO

4 thoughts on “Remember, Learn, Fight

Leave a Reply

