What I’m Thankful For

Happy Canadian Thanksgiving!! I thought I would take the time to write my weekly blog today. I always think of How I Met Your Mother and the infamous Slapsgiving episode:

slapsgiving

In our world today it is easy to get caught up in the whirlwind of the obstacles that is life. We have jobs, bills, personal problems… sometimes that we forget to take a breath and actually look around and see how good we have it.

When dealing with depression, negative thinking becomes a part of your everyday mentality. Or at least it does with me. This is why it’s even more important for me to actually look around and put in check my accomplishments, triumphs, and overall what exactly in my life I am truly thankful for. 

I am firstly thankful for the opportunity to be able to have the freedom to share my life with those who actually read this blog. Even though I’m pretty sure my partner is the only one who gets excited for my entries, I have reached countries as far as Australia, the Philippines, Egypt, and the Middle East. It is mind-blowing where my words have reached and I am ecstatic to continue to share my progress with my battle with depression.

tink

I also look at the people around me and can only be grateful they are in my life.

My partner of ten years who has held my hand through both my accomplishments and my failures.

My family:  We are definitely not the cookie-cutter family in the TV movies, but my parents show me love in many ways. My sisters. One, who has been in my life well, for all of it. A sister who may not exactly show her love in the normal ways, but she is there for me when I truly need her, and isn’t that what sisters are for? My older sister is someone who I never really have had the opportunity to get to know; a person I didn’t even know existed until I was in my pre-teens. However, with social media I have been able to see a drop into her life and see that it appears that she is happy, and that is all I truly want for all of my family.

sister

My partner’s family: who has treated me like one of their own pretty much since the beginning.

My friends: especially my pool teammates, who have treated me like we have been friends for years. Tonight they even picked up a cake to celebrate my birthday that is coming up this week, a tradition they do for all of the teammates. I was truly surprised.

My non-blood sister: who has been in my life over 20 years and has treated me as such ever since. She has even given me the gift of being in her daughter’s life as her auntie.

Then there’s my nephews, who are the lights of my life. Between my partner and I we have three nephews who have made our lives so much richer.

I am also thankful for my super handsome kitty, who, for those who would like an update, is feeling more like himself. He is my company when I feel lonely, which is a lot when I’m having my low days. Sometimes he is one of the only reasons I get out of bed in the morning.

I am truly thankful for the employment opportunities I have had in this economy. I know that I complain a fair bit about my job, but it allows me to pay my expenses and eat. I have a warm roof over my head, I’m definitely not hungry. I am truly thankful for those things, especially when I know there are people out there who do not have these luxuries, which is exactly what these things are.

fry

I am thankful for all of the experiences that my life has given me. Some of them I have had to fight tooth and nail to overcome the battles that they have brought, but they have made me stronger. For some I have the physical and mental scars to prove it. I am definitely happier now than I ever was. I still have a long way to go to reach true self-love and self-acceptance of who I am. I know that I will always be a work in progress, but isn’t that what life is?

Again, thank you for reading this. Thank you for everything.

Now it is time I bid you adieu. Cheers and Stay Smiling!

DO

8 thoughts on “What I’m Thankful For

Leave a Reply

